EMWWAA Awards 2017

2017: Memorial Tribute for late Angela Kwok, Chinese Community Champion, Winner of Lifetime Achievement Award 2013

Angela Kwok.jpg

Rhodri Morgan Awardee


Uzo Iwobi

Uzo holds a law degree from the University of Nigeria and she qualified as a solicitor and a barrister and was called to the Nigerian Bar. She sounded the African Community Centre in 2002 and Race Council Cymru in 2010 and sits on the board of several voluntary organisations. She was appointed to the Police National Diversity Team (PNDT) based at the Home Office to represent the Association of Chief Police Officers (ACPO) and the 43 police forces in the UK on a high level strategic tripartite partnership including the Home Office, the Police Authority (APA) and Her Majesty’s’ Inspectorate of Constabulary (HMIC) tasked with developing national policies on equality and diversity. She served with the Commission for Racial Equality (CRE) UK as a Commissioner until it merged with the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) in October 2007. In 2008 she was awarded an OBE in recognition of her services to community relations and South Wales communities. Awarded an honorary Fellowship and appointed a Professor at Practice by the University of Wales Trinity Saint David. She was appointed the Ambassador for Wales EMWWAA Award. She is the Specialist Adviser on Equalities to Welsh Government 

Winners List

  • Science Technology and Healthcare: Professor Kamila Hawthorne MBE 

  • Management and Leadership: Uzo Iwobi

  • Arts, Culture, and Sports: Leanne Rahman

  • Arts, Culture, and Sports: Angeline Tshyane

  • Social and Humanitarian: Martha Musonza Holman 

  • Social and Humanitarian: Susan Cousins

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Norma Glass

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Chantal Patel

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Layla Jader

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Gaynor Antoinette Legall

  • Business: Derin Omole 

  • Self Development: Fateha Ahmed

  • Self Development: Versha Sood Mahindra

  • Young Achiever: Queena Lee

  • Violence Against Women Agenda: Fatma Alan

  • Violence Against Women Agenda: Sheila Jerome

  • Violence Against Women Agenda: Omonigho Idegun 

  • Rhodri Morgan Award: Uzo Iwobi